A proposed amendment to the South Carolina constitution would allow married couples to get legally divorced after 150 days of separation, rather than one full year according to this article.
Rep. Walt McLeod has said he proposed the change for couples seeking a no-fault divorce after a constituent told him the year-long wait extended his parents’ bickering and the pain that causes children.
The 74-year-old Democrat told a House panel last week that South Carolina is out of sync with other states, including Georgia, which has no time requirement for getting a divorce. However, one spouse has to be a Georgia resident for at least six months.
The debate was postponed so the panel could hear from representatives of the South Carolina Baptist Convention and Palmetto Family Council.
South Carolina was among the last states nationwide to allow divorce in 1949.
As a downtown Charleston family lawyer, I am happy to share SC family law news with you whenever I come across it. If you are having trouble in your marriage and would like to set up a consultation, please get in touch –